Software suggestions needed

Hi all,

I’m somewhat new here and in my first professional ITAM position. I have some formal training, but neither prior experience nor a mentor in the field. I have many years of experience in IT support and management.

I’m now with a fast-growing, 5 year old company that is now operating in a “chaotic” environment, meaning there is neither an owned network nor a directory service tying its employees and assets together. We’re leasing and deploying batches of new computers to standardize and replace the units in employee hands right now, but there will continue to be a significant population of random hardware for awhile to come.

I need suggestions for three functional HAM tools. A repository, a collection tool, and (not really hardware) a remote deployment tool. These can be separate or combined, but must be interfaceable if separate (preferably tried and true combinations).

To give some context, ServiceNow and SNOW are out of our reach, and have way more SAM capability than we can make use of at this point. We recently received a bid from a reseller of “multi-tenant” or shared ServiceNow licensing that was about 4x what we’re considering.

I am looking seriously at AssetPanda for 4000 assets and Lansweeper for its agent collection capabilities, although we’re unable to utilize many of its features in our situation. This is an affordable combination that I can fund if they can be interfaced with each other.

I’ve only today discovered TANIUM, which appears to be an integration of the above and maybe a great find. I also don’t have pricing yet, and it could be the next ServiceNow of unobtainability. But it looks like it has the correct feature set for our widely distributed, chaotic environment.